Skip to main content

At the Martin Luther King Jr. tribute, two UW School of Medicine scholars received awards.

Edwin Lindo, JD, was awarded the 2020 Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Service Award. Lindo works in the Department of Family Medicine and at the UW School of Medicine’s curriculum office. His is involved with the UW School of Medicine Community-Focused Urban Scholars Program (CUSP) — a comprehensive approach to diversifying the School’s student population and addressing WWAMI’s (Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana and Idaho) urban underserved physician workforce shortage through pipeline development and community-based medical school training.

Zainab Al-Tameemi, MD, MPH, was awarded the 2020 Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Award. Al-Tameemi is a Fulbright fellow and project manager at Iraqi Arab Health Board. She is an advocate for culturally sensitive health services for minority populations in Washington.