Skip to main content

The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation announced 17 physician scientists who are each receiving a 2020 Clinical Scientist Development Award of $495,000 over three years.

Congratulations to the 2020 recipients from the Department of Medicine:

  • Oyebimpe O. Adesina, MD, MS, assistant professor of hematology
    Project: A Feasibility Study of Alendronate as Treatment for Femoral Head Osteonecrosis in Adults with Sickle Cell Disease
  • Susan P. Wong, MD, MS, assistant professor of nephrology
    Project: Promoting Goal Concordant Care among Patients with Advanced Kidney Disease

A panel of distinguished experts in the medical field chose the recipients from a pool of 208 applicants through a thorough, multistage review process. The award funds physician scientists who are at the early stages of their profession to help them transition to independent research careers.