Fiona Gallahue, MD, Wins the 2020 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) selected Fiona Gallahue, MD, an assistant professor of Emergency Medicine at the UW School of Medicine, as one of the winners of the 2020 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award. Gallahue is now one of 15 individuals at the UW School of Medicine who have won this award.

UW Medical Center Receives Women’s Choice Award

UW Medical Center has been awarded the 2020 Women’s Choice Award based on outstanding achievements in clinical excellence and patient experience. The goal of this award program is to help women identify the best hospitals for their healthcare.

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

Election as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

UW Medicine AAAS Fellows and year of recognition are listed below:

Charles Alpers – 1998

Michael Bevan – 2009

Linda Buck – 2008

Breck Bryers – 2012

Margaret Bryers – 2010

William Catterall – 2010

Jeff Chamberlain – 2014

James Champoux – 2017

Charles Chavkin – 2006

Beverly Dale-Crunk – 2005

Trish Davis – 2004, 2012

Evan Eichler – 2006

Ferric Fang – 2013

Stanley Fields – 1997

Lisa Frenkel – 2017

Stanley Froehner 2017

Adam Geballe – 2017

Phillip Green – 2005

Peter Greenberg – 2006

Benjamin Hall – 2005

Caroline Harwood – 2009

Simon Hay – 2019

John Hess – 2000

Rodney Ho – 2009

Wim Hol – 2013

Gail Jarvik – 2017

Matt Kaeberlein – 2017

Robert Knopp – 2003

Martin Kushmerick – 1994

Michael Lagunoff – 2019

Lawrence Loeb – 1986

Nina Mayr – 2006

Stanley McKnight – 2010

Raymond Monnat – 2019

Charles Murry – 2013

Neil Nathanson – 2011

Peter Rabinovitch – 2015

Buddy Ratner – 2006

Edwin Rubel – 1990

John Scott – 2010

Danny Shen – 2011

Jay Shendure – 2018

John Stamatoyannopoulos – 2012

Barbara Wakimoto – 2006

Alan Weiner – 2008

Phyllis Wise – 2009

Elton Young – 2012

Ning Zheng – 2015

Dr. LeeAnna Muzquiz: Legacy of Leadership Award Recipient

Dr. LeeAnna Muzquiz, a family physician and assistant dean of admissions at UW School of Medicine, has been awarded the Legacy of Leadership Award from the Montana Medical Association.

The Legacy of Leadership Award celebrates Montana’s exceptional physician leaders who have made inspiring changes and long-lasting, outstanding contributions to advance Montana’s health systems while providing quality healthcare. Before accepting her current position at UW Medicine, Muzquiz was a family physician in Montana.

Dr. Douglas Franzen receives Bruce G. Gilliland Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Gilliland Award is presented annually to a faculty member who is actively engaged in clinical and didactic training or in the implementation of a graduate medical education curriculum.

Dr. Franzen is a leader who is committed to ensuring an outstanding training program and brings a creative yet analytical approach to education and program development. He holds many leadership roles nationally as well as in his own department.


Pat Blissitt named Washington's Nurse of the Year for Education

On November 15, 2019, Pat Blissitt, neuroscience clinical nurse specialist at Harborview Medical Center, was named Washington’s Nurse of the Year in Education.

The March of Dimes Nurse of the Year program is an annual celebration of nurses with recognition of exceptional nurses in a number of categories. The education category honors the nurse who has made significant contributions in education or professional development.

This year over 300 nurses were nominated for a Washington State March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Award. The Executive Leadership Team and Selections Committee for this event represent numerous healthcare facilities and schools of nursing across the state. Blissitt was a previous award recipient in 2013 as Education Champion Nurse of the Year by the March of Dimes of Western Washington.


UW School of Medicine faculty members named AAAS fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has named three faculty members from the UW School of Medicine as AAAS Fellows:

  • Simon Hay, a professor of health metrics sciences and director of the Local Burden of Disease group at the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, researches resolving infectious diseases in space and time in order to expose inequalities in health metrics and improve intervention strategies.
  • Michael Lagunoff, a professor of microbiology, studies Kaposi’s Sarcoma Herpesvirus, a virus that alters the cells lining blood and lymphatic vessels. 
  • Raymond Monnat, Jr., a professor of pathology and genome sciences and an investigator at the Institute for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine, studies DNA damage and repair mechanisms, genome instability, and its role in cancer and other conditions.

In addition, Harmit Malik, an investigator at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and an affiliate professor of genome sciences, was selected for his research on genetic conflict.

Read more about the UW faculty named AAAS Fellows on UW News.

Dr. Douglas Paauw to receive national teaching award from the American College of Physicians

Dr. Douglas Paauw has been awarded the Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award by the American College of Physicians (ACP).

Dr. Paauw has been on the faculty at the UW School of Medicine since 1988. He is an internal medicine physician and clerkship director for medical student teaching in the Department of Medicine. His career interests include the care of patients with HIV and working with medical students to help them develop their careers. 

The award will be presented at ACP’s Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, April 23, 2020, at the Internal Medicine Meeting 2020 in Los Angeles.

Dr. Darryl Potyk receives President’s Unsung Hero Award

Dr. Darryl Potyk received the President’s Unsung Hero Award, which recognizes the Washington State Medical Association member who offers extraordinary service to the profession to make our state the best place to practice medicine and receive care.  The award was presented at the 2019 WSMA Annual Meeting on Saturday, October 12, 2019.

Potyk is the chief of medical education for UW School of Medicine-Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership and associate dean for Eastern Washington for the UW School of Medicine.

darryl-potyk receives award

Dr. Edward Verrier inducted into the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators

Dr. Ed Verrier was inducted into the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Academy of Master Surgeon Educators on October 4, 2019. The academy recognizes outstanding teachers who have devoted their careers to surgical education.

Verrier specializes in adult cardiac surgery, including adult congenital heart disease and transplantation at UW Medical Center. He is the recipient of the John K. Stevenson Award from the UW Surgery Residents, the Socrates Award from the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association and the Bruce Gilliland Teaching Award that recognizes outstanding educators at UW Medicine.

Dr. David B. Hoyt, Dr. Ed D. Verrier, and Dr. Dr. Ajit K. Sachdeva